When God Intervened: My Breast Cancer Diagnosis Story

When I hear someone has been diagnosed with cancer, one question that comes to mind is, “How did you find it?” For breast cancer, typically a woman will find it during a self-exam, doctor exam or a routine mammogram. For me, I wasn’t too worried about breast cancer. I was in my 30s, in relatively good health and had no family history. However, at some point in time, cancer started in my right breast. It was growing, but not too fast. I was clueless because 1) my self-exams hadn’t turned anything up that I thought was concerning and 2) I didn’t think I was a strong candidate for breast cancer due to my lack of family history. I knew it was important in general to do self-checks, which I did from time to time. I also went to my doctors and women’s health doctors for annual check ups. However, nothing had been found to date, but the truth was, in 2014, I had breast cancer and I needed an intervention. I got it. This is my story.

My story begins with my friend Maria’s story. 

I believe it was 2011 when I first met Maria. She started a young adult group at the Mission Basilica church in San Juan Capistrano, California with her friend Erin. I attended the group and met Maria and the other members of the group there. She and I were also both involved in St. Timothy’s Young Adult Group at another church in the area and I first really got to talk with her at a gathering at Farrell’s, an ice cream shop located at the Shops of Mission Viejo. That night, she spoke of her family and how she was so close, like a second mom really, to her niece and nephews. I remember her coming to a church dance that I organized in November 2011 and she attended a church group hike put on by St. Timothy’s.

At one point along the way, I believe in 2012, she posted on Facebook that she was going into Mission Hospital to check on some pain in her abdomen and I commented that they would take great care of her—I had heard that Mission Hospital was a well regarded hospital in the area. I was not thinking that something major would happen, but it did. Maria ended up being diagnosed with a large cancerous tumor, and it was aggressive. Maria explained to us later at a group meeting at St. Timothy’s that her cancer was a very rare form of childhood cancer, something she had been born with. Maria said that only about two people per state in the United States are diagnosed with her type of cancer per year. She was 26 years old when she was diagnosed with this rare form of cancer, in the spring of 2012. I had never experienced this kind of news for someone so young, someone that I knew. I immediately began praying for her.

The diagnosis was very difficult for Maria, as it would be for anyone, but she rallied. She was courageous, and a fighter. She wanted to live and she worked hard for it. Her attitude was positive and she stayed strong. Whenever I saw her in the church groups she was smiling, laughing and sharing with others about her journey. She was intelligent, talented and enjoyed life. She was an up-and-coming star in the fashion design industry. I remember her love of music concerts and her knack of meeting famous people at special behind-the-scenes events or concerts.

Most of all, she was an example of faith. She led the church group faithfully and I could sense that she wanted to set an example, to make a difference in the faith journeys of others. And she did. She was a faith-filled example before her diagnosis, but especially during her cancer journey. She was fighting an extremely difficult illness, and yet, her smile was ever present. She offered words of encouragement to others in the group and talked about persistence. She shared her cancer story with others freely.

I believe it was after about a year of continuous treatment, Maria’s cancer was gone for about two months in the summer of 2013. She had been away from the group for a while and she rejoined us again, and we had the pleasure of seeing her beautiful smile, her cheerful personality and her joyful laughter. She joined myself and the others for spiritual talks, game nights and a beach BBQ. I remember joining her for dinner in San Juan Capistrano one night and hearing her tell her cancer story to a new girl, again sharing herself with others. 

Although she was many years younger than myself, Maria was someone I looked up to because she was a true leader and she had a strong faith. She was able to start something from nothing, a new group at church, and I sensed she had a true calling to share her faith with others and bring them closer to the Lord. She spoke of being “an example” at work, and would try to gauge if she should share her cancer story with her colleagues, if it was the right time or not. I admire Maria for keeping up her spirit under extremely challenging circumstances. She was a light to all of her friends, and she was beloved by her family. She had many close friendships. In her cancer journey, she did everything right. She was strong. She was brave. She was positive. She looked out for her family and showed care and love for them even in her toughest moments.

On September 10, 2013, we lost Maria, and she entered heaven. She was 28 years old, just having celebrated her birthday five days earlier on September 5. The cancer had came back quickly after the two-month reprieve. I feel sad for the hardships Maria endured, and I feel sad for her family. But, I feel nothing but happiness when I think of Maria herself. I remember a wonderful person who left a lasting impression on all those who knew her. 

At her funeral, the priest, Fr. Tim, said that Maria’s last words were “I am one tough lady.” And she was. She underwent 14 rounds of chemo, surgery and radiation. She was victorious over her cancer and the hero of her own life by the way that she responded to her most difficult experiences. She left this life victorious, and left a legacy by her example in the midst of cancer. She touched many people, and we do not forget. I feel happy that her last words were ones of self-esteem and self-worth. She deserved many rewards for battling all that she went through. She didn’t “lose” to cancer. She won in so many ways: in courage, in friendship, in love for her family, in love for God, and in the fact that she never gave up. The end of her life held true dignity. She set an example for all in her life and in her death. I knew that I would never forget her. From the time of her diagnosis to today, she is not far from my thoughts. 

And then, it was my turn for cancer.

Before my own diagnosis—before I had a clue that something was wrong—I prayed to Maria. I had heard that people who have gone before us are part of the Communion of Saints, and that we can pray to them for their help in passing along our intentions to the Lord. I figured that, now that I had lost a friend, I could at least pray to her for her intercession from heaven. Maria had told her mom and dad before she passed away that she would “watch over them” from heaven. This is a beautiful example of faith and love.

For most of 2013, I didn’t feel well. Not too bad, I wasn’t “sick” but I was feeling slightly “off.” I don’t know if this was related to my eventual diagnosis or not. But, the fact is this, I was a bit concerned and I prayed to Maria to watch over me, and I am pretty sure that that prayer specifically included a request for her to watch over my health. 

By 2014, I was feeling fine and I wasn’t thinking that there was anything wrong with my health. On July 25, 2014, I was laid off from my job. Just some changes going on, the typical corporate reshuffling. My health benefits would expire at the end of the month, July 31, 2014. I decided to go see all of my doctors so I could go on a high-deductible plan to save some money for the duration of my layoff, rather than going on Cobra. I went to my doctors to take advantage of the last few days of having health coverage, and to take a precautionary stance before going on a high-deductible plan with few health benefits other than catastrophic coverage. I was not expecting anything to be wrong at that time, and if I was not laid off I would have not gone to the doctor. During the next several days I saw my various doctors, such as my eye doctor and my dentist, and on the very last day of my benefits, I saw my internal medicine doctor, Dr. Diane Zebari. I had been going to Dr. Zebari for three years and I liked her because she seemed very thorough. I originally picked her out from my list of insured doctors because she graduated from a good school (University of Michigan), had a lot of experience (30+ years) and was affiliated with a good hospital (Mission Hospital). During those three years, Dr. Zebari seemed very intelligent and thorough, and I liked that. I also felt comfortable with her. Today, I thank my lucky stars that I picked her as my doctor.

On July 31, 2014, I saw Dr. Zebari for a physical, including a women’s check, and said that she felt something “for sure” in my left breast. She recommended a bilateral breast ultrasound (an ultrasound of both breasts). She said that, as my insurance would be ending the next day, I could wait to do the ultrasound until I got my new job and new insurance or go right away to Orange County Diagnostics, which she said charged reasonable prices for diagnostic tests without insurance. “There’s no radiation, so there’s no risk,” said Dr. Zebari about the ultrasound. She wrote me an order for the ultrasound and drew a picture on it, marking one area in the left breast and two areas in the lower right. She recommended that I do a mammogram at the standard age of 40.

I went on my merry way, but took Dr. Zebari’s advice to heart. I wanted to do my due diligence and check it out, just in case.

Within two weeks I was at Orange County Diagnostics and paid $200 out of pocket for my bi-lateral breast ultrasound. The technician asked right away before the test why I wasn’t getting a mammogram. “Because my doctor ordered the ultrasound,” I said. I did not want a mammogram unless it was absolutely necessary. We proceeded with the ultrasound, and the technician left to have “the doctor” look at the results. The technician returned, saying that the doctor thought I should have a mammogram. This was concerning to me, but Dr. Zebari was at the helm of my care. “I will speak to my doctor, and come back if she wants the mammogram,” I said.

It took a while for me to get Dr. Zebari on the phone. I persisted in calling (again, for precaution’s sake). During that time, I received a letter from Orange County Diagnostics saying that there was an abnormality on the ultrasound. I persisted in calling Dr. Zebari. I also received a phone call that woke me out of “laid off slumber” one morning from Orange County Diagnostics. The lady on the line said that she was following up. “I know,” I said, you want a mammogram. I haven’t gotten a hold of my doctor yet.” But there was something more. “The doctor reviewed the ultrasound again and there is an abnormality in your right breast,” she said. “We want you to come back to have a biopsy.” Huh, I thought. Right breast? Breast biopsy? I didn’t know what to think. Was the lab reliable? Weren’t we looking more at the left breast? Dr. Zebari called me back. We discussed that I had an abnormal ultrasound and that they were wanting a breast biopsy. Dr. Zebari shared that she would rely on Orange County Diagnostics for radiology. They were trustworthy. For the biopsy itself, though, the only doctor she would go to was “Dr. West in Orange.” “I would go to him myself,” she said. That was high praise. I thanked Dr. Zebari and made an appointment the next day to see Dr. West. I was scheduled to see him that Friday, about a week away. I realized later that the date was September 5, 2014, the date of Maria’s birthday, one year later.

I was worried, but not really believing. I sent to see Dr. West.

Dr. West is a breast surgeon at BreastLink in Orange, California. Before my visit, I looked him up online and noted that he had 40 years of experience and was named one of the best doctors in America. I liked that. I really liked his number of years of experience, too. As with Dr. Zebari, the number of years of experience was important to me.

On September 5, 2014, I first met with Jen, the physician assistant. She did a breast exam and noted that she could feel a lump in the place the ultrasound indicated, on the right breast. Then Dr. West came in. He felt the area but could not feel the lump. “It’s because she has younger hands,” he said, referring to Jen. Dr. West got the ultrasound machine. He checked the left side and showed it to me on the ultrasound machine. “What we have here is nice and round,” he said. “It’s well defined. That is a classic, non-cancerous cyst.” He then put the ultrasound on the right side, on the spot in question from my prior ultrasound test. As soon as he touched the ultrasound to my skin he nearly jumped and said, “You may have cancer.” I noted what I thought was fear in his expression. He knew. I didn’t want to believe. I looked at the ultrasound machine and saw a bunch of squiggly lines, like someone had taken a pencil to paper to do some uneven shadings. It looked like scrambled eggs. Not good. “It may be fatty tissue,” Dr. West continued, backing off a bit. “Fatty tissue can look like cancer on ultrasound.” “Wait,” I said, “you said that I may have cancer.” I looked at him and we talked. “I don’t have any family history,” I protested. “3 out of 4 women don’t,” Dr. West replied, instantly removing my long-held assumption about my level of risk. My security blanket was gone. “We will hold your hand every step of the way,” said Jen. I wondered why Dr. West was surprised to see my cancer, and I think it was because he simply wasn’t expecting to see it. I believe only about 15% of breast cancers occur under the age of 40. The average age is in the high 60s. It is, in most cases, a disease of older women. But there are notable exceptions. Like me.  

The discussion continued. Dr. West told me that if I was his mother, his sister or his daughter, he would recommend that I get a mammogram and a biopsy–that day. I felt his sincerity, and I consented. It was a Friday, and I spent the rest of the day it seemed in a pink garment, getting the first mammogram of my life and getting another ultrasound; this one carefully checking the lymph node area.

The second ultrasound was hard emotionally. The technician said she would get the doctor and left. I prayed out loud to Mary, the Mother of Jesus, to save my life. I distinctly felt that my life was in trouble. When the radiologist doctor came in, Dr. Berashi, I believe is her name, I asked her if I was in trouble. “I don’t like how it looks,” she said, referring to the tumor. “As she examined my lymph nodes I asked her, “What do you see?” “Nothing,” she replied. Thanks be to God, my lymph nodes appeared (and were later proven) to be free of cancer. We didn’t have enough time that day to do a biopsy of the tumor and so we scheduled for the next business day, a Monday.

I spoke with Dr. West again later that day, and we had “the talk.” You know, the one you hope never happens when your doctor is telling you that you might have cancer. I knew he thought I had cancer and he conveyed to me the situation: 60% chance cancer, 40% chance not. I held on to the fatty tissue possibility ever so strongly. Both Dr. Berashi and Dr. West said that the pathology report after the biopsy would tell all. Nothing was known until then.

I returned the following Monday, and Dr. West performed my biopsy. He was wearing a bandanna with the breast cancer symbol. “That is so cool and hip of him,” I thought, “but that symbol is not for me.” Dr. West looked at me intently when I arrived and greeted me with the warmest hug ever. This took me by surprise. He was not unkind that Friday. He was earnest and informative. On Monday, though, he had changed gears from informer to supporter. I could not be more surprised. Who was this Dr. West? I never had a doctor hug me in my life, but it was entirely welcome. It literally drained me of all my anxiety, and I went through with my biopsy for possible cancer without fear. That hug was probably the most needed and effective hug of my life. “Debbie, I worried about you all weekend!” he exclaimed. The renowned breast surgeon was worried about me? In his spare time? In that hug experience, I knew I had gained an honorary family member, even though I had only known him for less than 48 hours. I requested Dr. West to meet my mom and sister who were with me before the biopsy because important stuff was going down, and I wanted them to meet the man taking care of me. “I will take good care of her,” he told my mom. I knew he meant it.

On September 10, 2014, the Wednesday following my Monday morning biopsy, I got my diagnosis. It was the one-year anniversary of Maria’s entry into heaven but I didn’t really think about that until after my diagnosis. Dr. West called and left a message to call him back. I felt a surge of optimism. “It is cancer,” said Dr. West. “I think you will do very well.” I asked him some questions and discussed some practicalities and then hung up. I was disappointed, but I was happy that Dr. West’s diagnosis also contained words of hope. I was also happy that Dr. West told me instead of anyone else. During the short time span of 6 days, Dr. West had established a family-type of relationship with me. I wanted my diagnosis, if it was to be cancer, to come only from him. It was a blessing that it was so. Dr. West had rushed to get an initial pathology report because he wanted to move fast. Since the first day I met him, he was a warrior against cancer on my behalf. He called me personally a couple days after my diagnosis to report that the full pathology report was in, and I could hear the happiness in his voice when he shared that the cancer was non-aggressive. I later learned that young women with breast cancer typically have aggressive types but I did not. When I saw him in the office after my diagnosis over the phone he told me, “I will treat you as my own daughter.” “I can feel it,” I responded. These beautiful words were backed up by action. He called me two more times personally after that just to check up on me and see how I was doing emotionally. He rushed every single test. And there were many tests to rush. He guided me at every step. He rushed my surgery date. Every time he saw me, he had a hug for me and called me “sweetie pie.” I felt like his only and most valued patient. I could feel his care. He literally transformed my cancer experience for the better. I sat back and marveled at him and the beautiful way he treated me. On my surgery day, he only had eyes for me as I entered the preparation room. He looked into my eyes and patted my neck. In an instant, as with my biopsy, all of my pre-surgery anxiety (and there was a lot) was gone. Dr. West was (and is) a huge blessing. He treated me with love like God the Father. I have so many more stories about the ways God worked in my life through my other doctors (my oncologist and my radiation oncologist), assistants, nurses, friends, priests, family, my mom, fellow breast cancer survivors and on and on. Even though I kept my cancer story private from most except those who needed to know, priests, and about five friends) I feel that Dr. West and all of these others (more stories to be shared) were an answer to prayers, said by me, and said by the small but mighty circle of people praying for me. If I count up those people though, it was probably many more than I know. I kept my story private for the first year with everyone else as I took care of myself and healed emotionally. Through all of the people who helped me, and there were many, God blessed me and touched me. They did the work of God on earth. Breast cancer gave me heroes and people that I admire the very most.    

That day of my diagnosis, on September 10, 2014, after my diagnosis I remembered what day it was: the one-year anniversary of the day Maria passed away. I do believe that she heard my prayer, and took my intention to the Lord. I feel like, with the anniversary of her birthday and of her death overlapping with my unofficial diagnosis and official diagnosis days, those two signs are just too hard to ignore. It’s like the Lord is saying to me, “You may not believe one coincidence or sign, so I will give you two.” My early-stage breast cancer discovery was an intervention. I could not feel my breast cancer, and neither could three doctors. I was too young for a standard mammogram. I had to lose my job, I had to have a cyst that tipped off my doctor (she did not mark the breast cancer area on my order, because she could not feel it). Two renowned breast surgeons could not feel it. And then I had to follow up, follow up, follow up. I believe my prayer saved my life. Maria saved my life. Getting laid off saved my life. The cyst in my left breast saved my life. Dr. Zebari’s decision to do a bilateral ultrasound saved my life. The availability of ultrasound technology saved my life. My willingness to err on the side of safety saved my life. Ultimately, the Lord saved my life. Thank you, God.

In the end, I needed no systemic treatment (no chemo and no medicine). After three opinions, I opted for a lumpectomy followed by radiation. I have learned a lot about breast cancer. I have met incredible people–my favorite people besides my family and friends. They are my doctors and their staff.

I am thankful I prayed to Maria that day. I believe the Lord said, “Yes.” Today, one year later, I am cancer free and my oncologist says I will “live a normal life span.” I don’t know why my cancer experience turned out differently than Maria’s. I don’t know why good people have to suffer. Reflecting upon my doctors’ incredibly compassionate treatment of me, it made me think that they were acting like God the Father. They were caring and they wanted the best for me. Wouldn’t God the Father have even more compassion? More love? Wouldn’t He want more than anyone else that His children live? I think He does. I think He looks down on us with compassion and wants us to live and do well. I believe the blessings we experience in our time of greatest need are from Him. I believe that in our most difficult times, we can call upon Him and rely upon Him for special strength and blessings through the power of prayer. This was true for me during my cancer experience. My greatest consolation when I did not know what was happening or what would happen is that cancer does not change God. Our ultimate destiny is the same–to be with Him. He is the same whether I have cancer or not. I trust that in our dying moments, He will come through and provide strength and grace for us–a level of strength that we cannot even imagine until we need it–and He will help lead us into the next life. He constantly surprised me by sending blessings during my cancer journey. Whenever I needed Him the most, at the time I really needed Him, I was given strength and blessings. In fact, I could not turn my head during my cancer experience without someone offering their help and care. It was a comfort to know that we are not alone during any crisis that is too big for us to handle. My breast cancer was too much for me to handle, though my journey was only a couple of steps along the path. I had to give it to God and to his mother to carry, and they did. I trust in God that He will always help me. It is good to know that His strength is unlimited.

Today on my one-year anniversary as a breast cancer survivor, on September 10, 2015, I thank God for His intervention.. My doctor says I will “live a normal life span.” My tests show that I have less than 3% recurrence risk or more than 97% chance of cure. My journey was difficult for me emotionally but so very light physically. This is the blessing of early detection. I thank Maria for hearing my prayer. I know she will be with me the rest of my life. I thank my family, my friends, my beloved doctors and their staff, for caring for me as family, as one of their own. You have made all the difference.  

“What Cancer Cannot Do”

Cancer is so limited…
It cannot cripple love.
It cannot shatter hope.
It cannot corrode faith.
It cannot eat away peace.
It cannot destroy confidence.
It cannot kill friendship.
It cannot shut out memories.
It cannot silence courage.
It cannot reduce eternal life.
It cannot quench the Spirit.

 Author: Unknown

This is my true story but it is not meant to be used in place of medical advice from a health care professional. Not every cancer will be treated the same way, including breast cancer. If you are experiencing a breast symptom or have questions regarding your breast health or genetic testing for breast cancer genes, please consult your doctor and the most renowned breast care center in your area. For those in Southern California, I would highly recommend BreastLink, a comprehensive breast care center located in Orange, Laguna Hills and Temecula.  


2 thoughts on “When God Intervened: My Breast Cancer Diagnosis Story

  1. Debbie,
    What a beautiful story you have shared. Tony and I pray for you everyday. You’re an inspiration to all of us. Sending you our love! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment